top of page

Pearson Test of English is officially accepted by the IRCC for Canadian immigration

The Pearson Test of English (PTE) Core will now be acceptable for all immigration streams as of January 30, 2024, with the exception of the Student Direct Stream (SDS).

PTE test for canada immigration

This implies that the PTE Core is now available to candidates for the Provincial Nominee Program (PNP), applicants in Express Entry controlled programs, and anybody requiring a language test for any other Canadian immigration reason (other from the SDS), such as applying for Canadian citizenship.

The PTE Core: What Is It?

The PTE Core is a computer-based language exam designed to demonstrate general English proficiency for immigration purposes to Canada. Within a two-hour time frame, the test evaluates speaking, writing, reading, and listening in daily English. There are about 400 testing facilities located all over the world.

The exam is graded by both AI and humans, according to Pearson's website, to lower the possibility of bias. Usually, test results are available in two days.

The PTE Core is divided into three parts:

  • Speaking and writing (50 minutes);

  • Reading (30 minutes); and

  • Listening (30 minutes).

The PTE Essential exam was approved for use in Canada last year, and it has been replaced by the PTE Core. It should be mentioned that Pearson offers a variety of exam kinds (such as PTE Academic), just as other recognized language testing companies. Candidates for immigration are urged to confirm that they have finished the appropriate test for the program of their choice.

The table that compares the PTE Core exam to the Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) is shown below.

CLB level for PTE test

Five recognized language examinations:

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) now accept five language tests in total for immigration purposes with the inclusion of the PTE Core. These are the following:

  • CELPIP General Test (English);

  • IELTS General Training (English);

  • PTE Core (English);

  • TEF Canada (French); and

  • TCF Canada (French).

These five assessments evaluate language proficiency in four domains: speaking, writing, listening, and reading. Within these four competencies, individuals may need to meet varying requirements depending on the particular program under which they apply.

immigration canada visa

For instance, depending on the program they select, immigration prospects applying under Express Entry-managed programs will require varying scores. A minimum CLB level of 7 is required for all language skills by candidates under the Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP). However, candidates must have a minimum CLB level of 5 for speaking and hearing and a minimum level 4 for reading and writing in order to be considered for the Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP). Additionally, candidates seeking to be placed in the Canadian Experience Class (CEC) must have a minimum CLB level 7 or level 5 proficiency in all language skills, depending on the National Occupation Classification (NOC) competence level required for their position.


bottom of page